DH has always been a laid-back, easy-going spouse. He likes to simply go with the flow; he often keeps his comments to himself because he’s afraid to upset me. I have to admit that I’ve always had a bad temper, and my DH has been on the receiving end of my wrathful outbursts entirely too many times. So, to avoid such unpleasantness, DH learned  to avoid conflict by any means necessary.

When I brought the idea of D/s and domestic discipline to my DH, my words were set against the backdrop of six years` worth of controlling and less than loving or respectful behavior. I don’t know if, at first, DH really believed that I wanted to change my ways and submit to him in and out of the bedroom. I can’t blame him. I would have been highly suspicious had our positions been reversed.

His personality and my prior behavior were not the only obstacles challenging our D/s journey; DH had another issue: a mental block about hitting women. (Most guys worth their salt have this same mental block, I think.) My DH is a gentleman and could not bring himself to think of “hitting” me. Even though I wanted him to spank me both erotically and for discipline, I fully understood his hesitation.

Taking all of these things into consideration, I had my doubts whether DH could ever be comfortable with being dominant in our relationship. I was in for a pleasant surprise.

