As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been reading Have a New Husband by Friday by Dr. Kevin Leman.

Tonight I read the “Wednesday” assignment. I’m going to need to read it again…and again. It’s all about the way that wives and husbands communicate. Dr. Leman lists some words that wives often use that come across as disrespectful to their husbands: “why,” “but,” “always/never,” etc.  I am guilty of all of them…in excess. I also struggle with being critical of J and of having a “tone” when I speak to him. The list of my offenses when it comes to communication with my hubby is LONG.

In her comment on my post last night, Sub`s Missives noted that perhaps J needed me to show him love in his love language to help him feel respected. I believe J`s primary love languages are gifts and words of affirmation.

So, it seems that if I use my words more wisely, I could really affect our marriage. And better yet, I could make my hubby feel like a million bucks.

Taming my tongue will not be easy. Changing habits is also not going to be easy. But, as the Bible says,  “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” Philippians chapter 4, verse 13.

